IMG_20170513_074218LOWRES.jpg

I tried to draw my mom and me from a picture for mothers day. It didn’t turn out as good as I hoped… I really regret having done the outlines, it looked better without. But then there’s no ctrl Z on real paper…

I thought it would be nice to do a hand made gift after all those years. Because you do it when you’re little, remember? You make this useless things in kinder garden and your parents have to pretend to be super stoked about them. But then, I do agree that there is a value in hand made things that can’t be found in a bought gift so… Outlines or no outlines, it’s still better than what I did 28 years ago 🙂

Save

One thought on “”

  1. I know the feeling. You get so used to doing digital work (or playing video games with a reset button) that it bothers you when you cannot undo a decision on paper. I also know that strange disappointment of adults doing things with what we made as kids that aren’t necessarily respectful to the artists we are becoming. Now, as an adult, I have to decide what the next generation will preserve from their generous art supply (and how much I invest in their art).

    Over the past decade or so, I’ve started making portraits of people as a way of saying “Thanks for getting to know me and letting me get to know you.” And, while I see various styles and outcomes in my head, I usually end up creating cartoon-ish or coloring book pages on a large scale that I then struggle to color and ink.

    Like

Share your thoughts, tell your story

