Moist banana cake

It was cold and dark yesterday night. A violent and disturbing wind bashed the windowpanes of my tiny flat and rattled the doors. Unsettled, I was sitting in my sofa like a little pile of misery. Crunched up in a ball, face all wet from crying my heart out after watching The Imitation Game. I’ve mentioned Graham Moore’s Oscar speech on this blog before, yet after actually seeing the movie, his words touch me even more.

There I was. Contemplating life and fighting off a small internal crisis on whether it’s still okay to #StayWeird without being a gifted mathematician or extraordinary writer.
That’s when I decided to bake a banana cake. If you don’t see the correlation, it’s pretty straight forward. Nothing matches stormy nights like the smell of warm dessert floating through your house. And nothing suits the mind like stirring batter mindfully, while singing out loud in the kitchen.

Can you believe that I never even tasted banana cake before? What a shame!

Banana Cake


But enough about me and my questionable mental health. Let’s get down to business.

I got the idea and basic recipe for the cake from Melina’s Sugary and Buttery website. She has a bunch of great recipes and takes wonderful pictures. If you want to see a really neat portrait of what the cake is actually supposed to look like, go check out her post.

“Let the Imitation Game begin,” I muttered. Because really, my cakes never turn out the way their supposed to be. I blame the lack of a decent food processor, mixer and my shitty oven (which only has a grill setting). But most likely I should also blame myself for never following a recipe properly.

Yesterday, too, I made some changes to the original list of ingredients. And even though my cake turned out a lot less fluffy and a lot more moist than the one in Melina’s picture, I don’t regret my actions. The result is divine! I just had another piece for breakfast.

Here’s what I did.


Ingredients:
1,5 cup of self rising flour
1 cup of coconut sugar (Which is dark. If you want the cake to have pale colour, use a different kind)
1/2 cup of grounded almonds
1/4 cup of coconut oil
1/2 cup of apple sauce
2,5 large, mashed bananas
2 whole eggs
vanilla extract, a pinch of salt, nutmeg and cinnamon (to taste)


What to do:
Fear not. I’m a master in over simplifying recipes and this one is particularly easy.

  1. Preheat your oven to 200ยฐC (some 374ยฐF)
  2. Mix the sugar, coconut oil, apple sauce, eggs, vanilla extract, grounded almonds and bananas together
  3. Add the flour, the salt and the spices and mix again briefly
  4. Grease your baking tin (the original recipe recommends a 8 inch round tin) and pour in the batter. Tap on the counter a few times to release air bubbles.
  5. Bake for about 40 minutes. Check after half an hour to estimate the exact cooking time.
  6. Let the cake cool but if you can, it’s nice to have a piece when it’s still a little warm ๐Ÿ™‚
  7. Don’t forget to enjoy mindfully!

I served my cake with honey cream cheese this morning, to give it a more breakfasty flair. I know it doesn’t look like much, but it serves the taste of the banana cake rather well. The original recipe uses a more sugary frosting that looks super cute, next time I’ll be trying that, too.


I hope you’ll enjoy your therapy (or just casual) baking adventure and hope to share some more with you guys soon!

Share your thoughts, tell your story

